Asteroid 2014 RC Is Coming Really Close to Earth On Sunday, Sept 7, 2014

A asteroid discovered just last week (Aug. 31) by the Catalina Sky Survey near Tucson, Arizona, will have ‘very close’ shave with Earth on Sunday.

The 60ft rock will come ten times closer to our planet than the moon but will not be visible to the naked eyes.

At the time of closest approach, based on current calculations to be about 2:18 p.m. EDT (11:18 a.m. PDT / 18:18 UTC), the asteroid will be roughly over New Zealand.  From its reflected brightness, astronomers estimate that the asteroid is about 60 feet (20 meters) in size.

2014 RC will not impact Earth, its orbit will bring it back to our planet’s neighborhood in the future.  The asteroid’s future motion will be closely monitored, but no future threatening Earth encounters have been identified.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s